It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: new to suboxone
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:44 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have been taking suboxone for 10 days I started at 16 milligrams per day and am now down to 12 mg. I noticed no differance when dropping the dose. I have been getting really bad anxiety while on suboxone and the physician wants to switch me to subutex. Does anyone have any experience with subutex. Also I want to get off the sub as qucikly as possible and be opiate free. Does anyone know if there are any withdrawals if I get down to 4mg a day would I have any withdrawals if I stopped after this dosage?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:54 am 
Super-Duper Poster
Super-Duper Poster

You either need suboxone or you don't.. Mike

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:05 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Hi mikemac -

I'll give this question a crack. I am no doctor - and that's my first advice - TEAM up with your doctor on this. Anything I type here is from what I have learned on the web, my doc, and this site.

1- Suboxone/Subutex only different in one medication to avoid abuse - that medication is naloxone. Naloxone appears to be in suboxone so that people would not make it into an IV and shoot it. The main medication to block the opiate receptors and give us relief is Buprenorphine. That is the same medication is subutex (only bupe) and suboxone.

2- Bupe has a 'ceiling' effect in our bodies. There is some discussion - but it appears if you have 'optimal' absorbtion under the tongue/in mouth - that is around 4 mg maybe as low as 2mg. Therefore you 'should' be able to drop to 4mg or maybe even 2mg with little wd's. Dr. Junig does a good youtube - search there on suboxdoc and you'll find it.