It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 7:13 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:45 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi folks,
Started suboxone strips on Tuesday and due to withdrawal symptoms the doctor had me on 16 mgs twice a day. I spoke with the doctor today and though I am not feeling typical withdrawal symptoms I still had very strong cravings after my second dosage this afternoon. The doctor said raise my afternoon dose to 24 mgs while leaving my morning dose at 16 mgs. I'm new to all this and admit I know little about how this stuff works but it seems to me that 40 mg of suboxone a day is an awfully high dose. Am I wrong? Are there benefits to such a high dose or is it a bad thing? Thanks!
Skelly

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:00 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

welcome! yes, 40 is alot. personally, and everyone is different, but i see no difference after 16-20 mgs which is still considered high to some folks. some longtime opiate users start on 6 or less a day and are fine, dosage is very individual. i remember the first 2 weeks all too well-you will feel a little better every day, and will feel great in 2 weeks when your system adjusts. then maybe you could drop your dose a little. i am speaking for myself, i am no doctor, but have heard many of that same experience. others will probably respond with great advice, hatmaker, tearjerker, and romeo have great advice. congradulations for getting out of the rat race and back to your life!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:01 pm 
Super Poster
Super Poster

Hi SKelly,