It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 11:01 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I have been on suboxone now subutex for 3 yrs. I use a national pharmacy chain to fill my prescription and they all know me there and have never given me any grief ( I have been using them for the last 1 1/2 years). Today when I went to fill my script and pay for it ........something different happened. Instead of them asking for my DOB they asked for my Driver's License. I obliged..........and then they asked for my current address (which they already have). Then they asked for my home and cell phone number (which they already have). I asked what is this all about? They informed me that begining Sunday of this week the DEA is requiring this information.

Does anyone have any information on why the change? Certainly there are other ways of them knowing who is using subutex or suboxone. Is this going to cause more judgement of us? Perhaps this is only the chains new direction but the Pharmacist was clear it was the DEA requiring this.

My doctor told me that he kicked 5 people out of his practice this past month for not showing up for pill counts and said that he would be requiring more random pill counts going forward. This is not a worry for me as this is a non issue. Just curious if there is some new guidelines going on out there that people are hearing. Oh how we love being special.........huh.

Jim

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:26 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

I dont know what state your in,
but Ive heard and read in newspapers, that this is how theyre planning to 'crack down' on people doctor shopping or getting more than one perscription for opiates/narcotics/ any controlled perscriptions.

They are trying to come up with a "nationwide" data base, that your perscriptions and drivers licesense/ID card number are linked together.