It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:01 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: New Member
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:08 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello all,

I'm new to this, I didn't know this site was out there.

I had a spinal fusion 2yrs ago, long story short; I became addicted to pain meds. After a year I asked for help. I was labeled as a user and anytime I went to the doctor, they would come in with attitude...

After some time I was introduced to Subs. I was taking 2mg x2/day and having extreme cravings. I talked to my doc about it and i'm now taking 1 8mg twice a day and I'm feeing great again.

I do have a question about this drug. Last week I stumbled and twisted my ankle. It's still sore, not sure if I stretched a ligament or what. Because this happened, I wondered what would happen if I were involved in an accident.

They wouldn't know I was on it unless I'm awake to tell them. Also, what if I were in extreme pain, how would they treat me for the pain when I'm on this medication?

I still have pain from the surgery and the surgeon mentioned that there's a great possibility that I may need another fusion in 10yrs or so.

Thanks for any comments or suggestions.

S

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:37 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi theking and welcome to the forum. I'm glad you found us and I'm sure you'll find it to be supportive and informative.

If you go to NAABT.org, they have emergency ID cards that you can put in your wallet that state you are on suboxone. It also states that you may need additional pain meds if you are in an accident and need pain meds. And that's what you will need - a higher than "normal" dose of opiates if you need acute pain relief.