It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:20 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2013 5:16 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi, all. I am new to this site but not new to opioid dependence and treatment. I am relatively new to buprenorphine. I've been on suboxone for about four months now and don't like it at all - anything about it, other than that it saved me from chasing pills and powders in order to not go into withdrawl. Petty thing - I loathe the manner of administration. A bit less petty - I have never felt totally 'ok'. I'm not in withdrawl but I don't feel comfortable. Sometimes I even feel a bit cold and shaky. An intolerable side effect is this neuropathic pain in my hands which effects me only at night while sleeping, but wakes me up about twice a night. I have some numbness during the day. Speaking of pain, all of the pains that caused this round of abuse (problems with discs in my back plus all of the usual middle age accumulation of aches and pain) are in full flame.

I am curious if anyone else has experienced this numbness in the hands or the neuropathic pain, and what people's thoughts on Suboxone vs Subutex.

Thank you very much.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:16 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi

I am also on suboxone almost 4 months. Like you I had pain & got addicted to the meds. I can only tell you what i was told & that was to take the sub in smaller doses..1-2 mg's a few times a day instead of my dose twice a day. I am on 8-10 mg now & find the pain is taken care of for the most part by using smaller amounts of sub & taking advil. I am older & have those ache's but that's normal aging :(

More information about your dose & how you take it may help. Also the hand numbness could be caused by many things. Do you smoke? How do you sleep? Are your hands numb everyday? Could have even happened when you were using you just never woke up from it.