It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:29 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi All,

I've been reading this forum for awhile, but I have never posted before. I guess I am just looking for some support, as I feel the knowledge of suboxone tapering to be woefully inadequate from my Doctor and I don't have very many people I can talk to about this.

Background: Addicted to Oxycontin for 3 years, was put on 80 mg methadone maintenance, took me 5 years to finally get them to reduce my dose enough to switch to Suboxone. ( I harbor a lot of resentment towards this clinic but that's a rant for another time). I've been tapering slowly from 12 mg of Sub for the past 3 years and now I am down to 1 mg.

Everything was going great, I have been clean from any illicit drugs for a total of 8 years, building a quiet suburban middle class life, but being dependant on medication for so long is finally taking its toll on me. I want to get off of Sub more than anything in this world because my husband and I are ready to start a family and I just want to be as healthy as possible and free from any medications in order to have a healthy baby. In the past year and half I have even lost 125lbs since I have been eating right and exercising. Being the picture of health, I theoretically should have a relatively easy detox.