It is currently Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 2:03 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi! I'm new here.

I have a 40 degree curvature of my Spine, Oesteopenia in my hips, Degenerative Disc Disease, 2 Bulging Discs and RA.

My pain clinic closed and my Dr retired. I was referred by my family Dr to another clinic, this one is recommending Suboxone. So, I am reaching out to get more info. I'm confused. I've been in constant pain for years and only sleep and get some relief by taking Oxycodone. I'm wondering what will happen with my pain after taking Suboxone? Clearly I will have pain for the rest of my life.

Thanks for your help!

~d

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:56 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

HI

you've come to the right place for info on suboxone, but EVERYone is different on whether or not it REALLY helps with pain issues. when my doctor told me that the pain pills were probably making my pain WORSE, I didnt believe it. not one bit.

but honestly,,,,,,, the first two weeks on suboxone, was rough. every bone and muscle in my body was screaming for what it was USED to getting. BUT, after I made it thru that time frame,,,,,,, It really got better.
It does help me alot with back pain. I have bone to bone contact in my lower back and some arthritus going on. workin construction for about 12 years, is real good for that. LOL
Anyways, it doesnt take the pain away completely but it does make it bareable.
theres a pretty common opinion that suboxone's pain relieving abilities are about 4-6 hours after dosing. so people on it for pain, dose multiple times a day. Even if it's a low dose, taking it this way, helps allieviate pain better than once per day dosing.

And I think along with other medications, it can do the job.
I take ibprofen daily, sometimes tylenol. And the doctor writes me for muscle relaxers but I dont take those too often.