It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:22 pm 
Super Poster
Super Poster

The doctor on this forum posted this and I have to say How relieved I am to find a place where I can talk about this experience.
I have been on sub for about 2 months now-started at 14mgs and tapered myself down to 2mg now. I was advised to stay on this stuff for like a year but really was just seeking a short-term form of relief until I got some stability down in therapy and a better structure for myself.
I am a full time student and mom-and I finish up this Fall with my classes, graduating next spring after an internship.
Anyway, I am totally FREAKED OUT that I may be pregnant again, and I have read HORROR stories about moms giving birth to low birth weight babies, babies in WITHDRAWAL and stillborns------->I AM NOT OKAY WITH ANY OF THAT!! I also have heard it dries up your milk - NOT OKAY! I breastfed for a year and a half with my other child. This is really creeping me out and I am needing some serious reassurance and advice.

Do I go off it if I find out I am pregnant? My gut tells me YES, but people swear you will lose your baby. While I dont want that, I also don't want a baby to come out deformed, delayed or in withdrawal of all things. I dont want a stressful pregnancy where all I do is WORRY. So I would want to taper off. SOMEONE TELL ME THEY TAPERED OFF DURING PREGNANCY SUCCESSFULLY!! I AM AT 2MG PER DAY.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:51 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

First of all, take a deep breath and CALM DOWN. Next, stop reading the horror stories! There is a whole section here devoted to suboxone and pregnancy. Additionally, check out the many articles the Dr. Junig has written on his blog about pregnancy and suboxone/addiction. They are here: http://suboxonetalkzone.com/category/pregnancy/