It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:09 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:28 am 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi everyone. I am a new posted but have been lurking these forums for a few weeks while I was trying to make my Suboxone or not decision. I started treatment 4 days ago. Now I am questioning that decision and could really use some answers and support. I have seen what a wonderful support system you all are to each other here and would really appreciate and respect some advice.

First, a little bit about me and how I got here. I am a 30something mother of 3 children. I am a college graduate with two masters degrees. I have a professional career as a high school teacher. HOW DID THIS HAPPEN?!?! Drug addicts are high school drop outs who grew up in foster homes and joined a street gang (or something like that). NOT people like US! (I hope you all understand what I mean by saying this. I certainly didn't mean to imply that I am better than anyone here. I was just saying the same thoughts I know almost all of you had when you first recognized that the was a problem).

So, I have a different variation of the same story I have read over and over here. It all began the day after I gave birth to my third child via c-section. From that day on, I was suddenly and almost constantly in severe pain. I was experiencing intense burning pains all over my body and was having extremely painful muscle spasms in my back and thighs. A few days after
leaving the hospital with my newborn, i went to my doctor because the pain never stopped. I left with a prescription for 20 5mg percocet. I only used then as prescribed and when absolutely needed. The pain continued as did the refills. After a few months, my doctor said this condition appears to be chronic and referred me to pain management. I still don't have answers as to what caused the pain but several doctors suspect that I have nerve damage from the placement of the spinal from the