It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: New to Forum & Recovery
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 3:47 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

Hey there guys my name is Ryan and I am a 23 y/o opiate addict ha.. Sounds like Im at another AA meeting. Anyways Ill try to keep my story short as all of ours are pretty relative. I have been using opiates on and off for the past four years. My first experience was when I stole 4 500mg Vicodin's from pops medicine cabinet. For the first time in my life I felt normal. They tell you in AA that we have an emotional problem, not a drug problem. The self medication is what usually leads to physical addiction. Well at least that seems to have been the case with me. I quickly progressed to Oxys and eventually the occasional Heroin. 2 years ago I went to rehab and lasted 12 days. I left on the 13th day, caught the train home and claimed I would never do opiates again. Well the very next night I was out getting loaded. Since then I have spent the last 2 years on a mission to stay sober. To say the least I have failed miserably. When I say I have used on and off I guess what I mean is Im not the typical addict in the the sense that I have always used on a daily basis. The longest amount of sobriety I have achieved in 4 years was 34 days. Let me tell you that was 34 of the most miserable days of my life. After much research I realized what I experienced in those 34 days were PAWS. The constant racing thoughts and obsession of getting high combined with the inability to focus on anything or appreciate anything around me(joy). I was always able to grind out the week of mild withdrawals, it was staying sober I was powerless over. I guess I would fall into the category of a "Weekend Warrior" although my use would occur on any day of the week. I would usually use between 80-240mg of Oxy depending on my finances, take 3-4 days off, use for 2 days in a row, try to stay sober and typically a