It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: New doc
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:11 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi yall. I'm a physician practicing in Tampa, Fl. Worked part time as director of an OTP in New Mexico a few years back and I really miss it, thinking seriously about hanging out my shingle again here in Tampa.

My background is in neurology; been at it a quarter century. Very interested in psychology and spirituality, and how those things interact with biology. Happy to answer any brain questions if I can; just understand, way I look at it, anyone who thinks they have the human brain mastered is fooling himself. I look at it the way most neurologists do; I consider myself a student of the brain, not an expert.

With that in mind, lurking this forum has been a great learning experience. I've found, over the years, that I get quite a bit more mileage out of listening to patient experiences rather than marketing hype; if someone has BTDT, I think they deserve to be heard. Also I tend to read the "gripe" threads carefully. Is it cheesy to say "I hear you," or "you feelings count"? I dunno. I think we all need to hear that sometimes. If yall have any advice as I move forward with this thing, I am all ears. It'll come around to helping someone in need.

To those in recovery: you are magnificent. Anybody can mess up. Few have the courage to admit it, and the gumption to do something about it. To those who post here to help others: you are both magnificent and kind. I love that combination, but note with sadness such things seem rare in the recovery business. To the extent I can contribute to this discussion, I aspire to live up to that example.

Post subject: Re: New doc
PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 1:44 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Welcome DrDave,

Glad you are here and posted. Thanks.

Ya, the brain sure seems to be still a big unknown.