It is currently Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:38 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:03 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello all, I am so glad I found this site. I am a 33 year old girl (I don't think I can call myself a woman) and I have been hiding my addiction for 4 years now from everyone I know- my family, what is left of my friends, and my boyfriend of 9 years (who walked out on me last week and is one reason I am doing this). I have ruined my life and I want it back. I feel that I am a shell of a human being. I don't care about anything anymore except about not feeling WD. My opiate addiction is a story- 5 years ago I started having chronic kidney stone attacks. When I went to the hospital I was given vicodin ES. When I went to my doctor after he just wrote me a giant prescription for regular vicodin - the smallest tablet. At the time I had horrible insurance and couldn't get the help I needed for the stones. I would pass a stone almost every 1-3 months for a year and they would get stuck in my bladder and hang out there its awful. When I was able to get an xray I was told I had over 14 stones combined in both kidneys. My father and his 8 brothers and sisters ALL have had kidney stones. I was in complete agony and misery for a long time because I couldn't get the insurance to work for me and couldn't get the help I needed. What I really needed was lithotripsy but could not afford it and it was impossible to get a urologist reference because of HMO insurance and my general doc didn't seem to care / understand what I was going through. So I just used the pain medicine. BIG mistake. When I finally ran out of pain medicine I knew I was hooked. I couldn't go to rehab, I couldn't lose my job over it, I couldn't tell anyone. I was and am so ashamed of myself. So instead of going through WD and admitting to everyone what was going on I did some reseach. What I found was opium poppies. Does anyone else have this problem? So