It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:17 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 247 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 13  Next
 Post subject: Need support
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 11:18 am 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Hi. This is my first time posting anything online. I am trying to taper off and quit suboxone and need support. For various reasons, "live" support groups, family, or dr. are NOT an option for me. I am an educated professional with 2 healthy (thank God) school aged children and cannot afford to be ill or crazed with anxiety. I have been taking Suboxone for about 8 years; I made a very bad choice and started taking part of someone else's prescription, then got hooked. Anyway, over the last 4 months have tapered down from 12 mg daily to 1 and a half, and today went down to 1 mg.
I am scared, and hope to find some moral support and practical advice. I cannot talk to ANYONE I know personally about this, so please don't suggest it; it is just not an option.
So far I have experienced some mild withdrawl symptoms, but overall actually am feeling much better- more focused, more "feeling" emotionally than I have in years.
I am looking for some online friends to help me, and maybe I can help others as well??
THANK YOU!
I'm Determined!

Last edited by rca1004 on Wed Jun 04, 2014 6:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: Need support
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 4:48 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

I have been on it for 13 years. 2 days off. Lets do this together...!!

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 5:46 pm 

Welcome to the forum RCA!

If you can stand a slow taper, that is what I suggest. I would stay at 1 mg until you stop feeling any withdrawal symptoms and then drop a little lower. Then repeat. If you have to do a much faster taper from 1 mg, you can expect some yucky withdrawal symptoms that peak at day 4 and then start to diminish. Good luck with whatever you decide to do!

Amy

Our Sponsors