It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:28 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

OKI'm having a fusion on my lower back L3,4,5 I am wondering how long the recovery will be. Some people say they have been up and back to work after 5 weeks or so and some say 6 monthes or longer I am a phlebotome student and will be done in three weeks and I am doing the surgery right after class is done and don't really know what to expect on the job I do have to do three weeks of OJT so I will get an idea I do know I must bend over a lot I have to get the back fixed it is getting worse evey time I get a MRI on it I can't hardly walk so waiting is not an option if you have had this opertation please tell me how it was, what to expect thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:57 pm 
Super Poster
Super Poster

I had a L5 S1 fusion in 2005. I was working as a nurse at the time. I went back to work in 3 months. In our lines of work there is no "light duty". When you show up you have to be ready to work, and nobody in the workplace is going to feel sorry for you if you are not.

I had to wear a back brace for 6 weeks or so after surgery and then slowly decrease the time in the brace daily until I was able to go without it. I also went for physical therapy. Surprisingly there was only moderate pain. This was before Suboxone for me, and I was on Oxycodone after surgery.

I felt OK enough to go back to work after 3 months but I was very fatigued for a long time. Looking back I realize that it took about a year to really heal down. Today I have very little back pain at all.