It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:46 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I've been on suboxone for about 4 months now. I pay $150 for the doctor visit, he does not take insurance. I'm ok with paying the $150 for the appointment. I get 60 8mg strips a month that cost me about $600 cash a month. I've been paying for it with my savings. I'm now waiting to get my taxes this month so I can see about getting insurance. I just want insurance to cover my prescription.
I'm supposed to meet with an insurance agent this month and talk to him about what plans are available. My question is what are the chances I can even get insurance to cover my prescription?
Am I going to be rejected because it's a pre-existing condition? How much is it going to cost for the insurance? I'm hoping no more than $350. I live in Maine. I've been using for the last 10 years. This is my first time on suboxone.
My doctor is very busy and I doubt I'll be one of the lucky few to get the low income treatment.
I need to do something about the cost though. I'm hoping that I can qualify for insurance. Otherwise I don't know how to afford the scripts.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:39 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

It looks like if I get anything it will be a 'Guaranteed Issue' plan. This apparently is not the greatest option for someone buying health insurance on their own. This is really the only option for people with 'pre-existing conditions' such as drug/alcohol abuse. The first companies I am looking at are Humana and Aetna. I really only care if they can give me some sort of break on the prescription immediately. I believe with guaranteed issue plans there is some sort of waiting period before they will cover any doctor visits etc.