It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 5:51 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi everyone. New to posting on this forum through I have been reading posts for years. I have been sober for 7 years now. I am a 36 year old male and my addiction started after back injury, a number of procedures, therapy, and a failed surgery. I was prescribed vicodine but those quickly became not enough so I was put on oxy 40's. The oxy's lead to fentenal (spelling) patches. After 8 long months of pain meds and feeling I had to take more and more just to be able to go to work, I started realizing that I might have a problem.

I am an art teacher and half way through one day at work during my free period, I broke down and was overwhelmed. I started thinking that I am failing my students because I just couldn't perform to the best of my ability. How could I continue on when I was like a zombie all doped up on pain meds. A few days later I went to the administration, discussed my issue, and the next day checked into a clinic for help.

As for what I was taking: mostly oxy 40's and 80's sometimes twice a day either snorting or oral. When ever it was time for my script I was eating 100mcg patches no more than 1 a day unless I snorted an oxy with it. Out of the 8 months using, the patches and oxy's took up most of the last 4 months at that time.

after an impatient stay at a clinic I was put on 16mg of suboxone. Now hear it is 7 years later and I am still on it.

Yes suboxone has helped me get away from using pain meds but [(edited to say): "Ive had difficulties with the drug." (by Amy)] Not to mention it has caused server debilitating migraine headaches over the years. Sometime as many as once a week. i guess I got stuck in the mind set that if it isn't broke then don't fix it. A year ago I decided that enough is enough and started reducing my dose.