It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:08 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: need advice
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:59 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

HI....I thought I posted this but I cant find it sorry I am new to puters.Anyway I have been on 4 mg sub for a year and the last three days I went to 2 mg been feeling tired,my tummy hurts a lil depressed is this normal? I have had some depression on 6mg an 4mg so dunno if thats normal either.I tried last year to just stop at 4 mg an omg that was no fun.So anyways thanks for your time :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:30 pm 
Hi Jenealle! Sorry you're feeling some depression. I don't think it's uncommon at all. I've even heard of some of the doctors putting their patients on an antidepressant with their Suboxone especially as they are in the final stages of tapering. This makes sense to me because I've heard many people say that Suboxone does a pretty good job of treating their underlying depression if they've had that diagnosis even before starting Suboxone.
For me, I never had depression, didn't even know what it felt like until after I got addicted to opiates. When I tried abstinence-based recovery for a while, I found that after the intense acute phase of withdrawal was over, I was left with a pretty depressed mood and extremely low motivation to do anything all day for weeks and weeks. It really was debilitating to me. From that experience I deduced that dysphoria must be a component of Post Acute Withdrawal. So to me it would make perfect sense to inquire about the possible need for a prescription for an SSRI when approaching one's final taper and jump off Suboxone.
I am on ~4mg/day right now and if I notice those low moods setting in when I begin to taper further, I will plan to talk to my doctor about the need for an antidepressant for a while. Maybe this is something you might want to think about too.