It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:25 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: I need advice pls!!
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 2:03 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi im new to this so bear with me. Im 32 and have been addicted to opiates for 10 years. Ive been to in-patient (30 days) and out-patient multiple times and never able to stop. Ive been on suboxone for 16 months. 1 year at 8mg/3times day. and last 6 months at 2mg/2 times day. i was planing a long slow taper but due to my job finding out im on it (im a paid firefighter) they now want me off of it or i could lose my job. im not allowed to work till im off of it. so i jumped off at 4mg day. last dose was sunday 4/27/14 today is friday 5/2/14. 5 days no sub and i dont feel to bad just sweats, chills, cold/hot and extreamly tierd and no energy. i still have a appitight and iam sleeping good thru the night. my doc has given me clonodine and visteral to help. in the past when stopping using drugs ive had horribale w/ds. i feel good mentaly. just nerved up. just want to know if iam a sitting duck and gonna get my butt handed to me or what??

Post subject: Re: I need advice pls!!
PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2014 9:40 pm 

That totally sucks AC3! How did your work find out, a drug test after employment? Your medical history is supposed to be private but that doesn't help you now.

Who knows how bad the w/d's will be. Some don't have a bad time, and others go through a lot. One way or another, you will get through it. It just would have been better if you had the time to taper properly. Not being able to work and get paid is reason enough to jump at 4 mg's. I would probably do the same.

Make sure you have some comfort meds to help you through this. If you don't know off hand what they are, say so and I'll dig up the list.

Welcome to the forum!

rule

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 5:22 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More