It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:27 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:47 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hello all,
I have been using on and off for about 15 years. I did have one long break in there of almost 4 years but when that streak did end, it ended disastrously.
As of this writing I have been opiate free for 9 days. Worst of the WD has passed and I have no doubt I could keep going and manage to at least stay clean for awhile. But, I always relapse. I am considering trying suboxone as a "maintenance" medication to both help prevent those relapses (I know it's no miracle and cannot "prevent" relapse...but hopefully help) and to give me time to adjust some other behaviours, get back in to my old passions and hobbies, and try to find some joy in life not related to drugs.
I cannot afford to both continue using and save the required money for starting suboxone treatment. It is simply not possible on my income. So, I went through the fun time that is withdrawal, and after my next paycheck will have saved enough to afford that expensive first month of treatment. But, if I'm not currently in withdrawal, or on opies at all for that matter, is it even possible to be accepted? My extensive track marks should certainly put any questions of whether or not I'm actually an active user to rest but I'm wondering what the guidelines here are. Are there any? Is it simply the doctors discretion?
I hate the idea that I somehow must binge out and waste tons of money, while hurting my family just to convince some stranger that I really do need help. Plus, I just plain don't know how I could afford both drugs and treatment.
Thanks,
GovtMediaLiars (GML)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:31 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi GML and welcome to the forum. It sounds like you've put some thought into this and from what you've said, you do sound like a good candidate for sub treatment.