It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:02 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:53 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

:cry: My Mom takes,

6-30 mg Oxycodones per day plus 4-Morphine 30mg extended release 4 times a day.

Her doctor told her Suboxone woudn't touch her tolerance.

I don't believe it but could it be true?I heard her Doc say it...

Does she have a chance? She hates the life she is living.With all those pills she still constantly craves her next dose and will take way more if sh manages to get her hands on it...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:27 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I am no doctor, but I do think suboxone will help, even with her tolerance level. I am taking about 120 - 160 mg oxy a day and I have taken suboxone before and it helped, I just didnt have a subscription. But everyone is different, it wouldnt hurt to try, if anything it could only help. Thats just my opinion. I hope everything works out for your mom.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2010 12:36 am 
Super Poster
Super Poster

Hi there dont sleep,

I am so sorry to hear about your mom. I know the hell of being so badly addicted to huge doses of opiates. I have no idea why your moms doctor would say that Sub will not touch her tolerance. I was taking about the same amount if not more than your mom is, and Sub is working for me just fine. As a matter of fact, Sub literally saved my life as I had lost all hope of ever getting well and in recovery.

I know that there is a celing level to Suboxone and that is why most methadone patients are supposed to get below 30mg of methadone before they try to induct to Suboxone. Your moms doc might be getting his information confused. Of course it would be a much easier induction for your mother if she could taper her dose some, especially the extended release morphine (is she does not crush or chew her ER pills).