It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:03 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:20 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

So I have been on Suboxone for 1 1/2 years now I take approximatly 1 1/2 8mg tablets per day. My question is how can I quit? Can I just stop? Or do I have to gradually wean myself off of them? I go to a doctor that has never even brought up the thought of getting off of them when I brought the subject up to her she said "stopping too soon makes people relapse" So I just wanted to stop but heres the problem no one knows my situation, I am a single mom with 2 young children, a full time student with 6 weeks left of class until I graduate with my Bachelors degree, I am also an office manager and a softball coach so if stop taking these and get to sick to function what can I do but at the same time I cant take it anymore. I have no energy, I am depressed and my mood swings are out of control. Most of all I hate being dependant on these things. I have never tried to quit and never had withdrawels from either I have always had some I was too scared not to. So I really am hoping to get some answers.

Thanks !!!!!
Drea

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:38 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi Drea and welcome. What i would say is give yourself some time to taper off, because you will have withdrawals if you just stop taking them. And that will put you at risk of relapse. Being addicts and all, well, we'll always be at risk from relapse.