It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Looking for help
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2013 2:32 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello,

I'm 23 years old and I've been abusing opiates for the past five years. I started out small(like everybody else) with, you know, just popping a couple 5 mg Lortabs here and there. Then I worked my way up to Oxys... and then I graduated to Black tar heroin.

I've been going strong on the black for about 2 years now. In my five years of being in the "dope show"
I've tried to quit many times. The longest I went being sober was 6 months. But boy was that a living hell. The whole time I was juggling between the thoughts of either committing suicide or going out and getting my fix. So I got back on.

Now I'm in a situation where I'm pretty much borderlined homeless and I no longer want to live this dope sack to dope sack lifestyle. So I've been looking into treatment options... and at first I started researching about Methadone but it just seems like that'd put me in an even worse situation then I'm already in.

So then I started researching about Suboxone and with everything that I've read about it thus far, success stories, how it's used, side effects, etc... I really feel that this would be the best treatment option for me.

But unfortunately, I'm in a situation where money is scarce(literally literally) and I highly doubt that I'd be able to afford treatment. What little money I do come across goes to my addiction.

Honestly in the condition I'm in I really can't find a job. Not like anybody would hire a junkie anyway. It really sucks when you find help and the only thing stopping you from getting it is not being able to afford it. I guess there truly is a price tag on hope.