It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 11:48 am 
New Poster
New Poster

I am a professional in my 40s. I am on my second time being treated with suboxone. After a few months of my last treatment the doctor tapered me off and I spent only a few months clean and went back to opiates. I went back on the program once the use of opiates started accelerating again and have been on suboxone about 6 weeks now. My problem is the only doctor in the area believes in short term use and I would like to be on long term maintenance. I take 1 1/2 a day, it works perfectly and I have never felt better than when on suboxone. It truly gives me my life back. He has group counseling that you participate in before seeing him for your appointment. While you wait for an hour or more with the other patients he has a counselor talk with us about NA and 12 step programs. When asked what I am doing for my recovery ( he knows I am not going to meetings) I told him I am taking suboxone. He informed me that I will have to go elsewhere as they "don't do that there". It makes me feel bad and worried after every session with him. Every week I listen to his jabs about trading a drug for a drug, not true recovery while on suboxone etc. and asked if I went to meetings. He recovered with NA and AA and has never taken suboxone. I have talked to the doctor regarding long term maintenance and he has not said he wouldn't treat me that way but has never agreed either. I worry that I will have nowhere to go for treatment soon. Suboxone is truly a miracle in my life and friends and family are not even aware of my addiction problem and I have no one to turn to. Any ideas?

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 1:13 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster