It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 4:45 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

Hi all, longtime lurker, and after reading the posts in the Sub and Pregnancy section I feel like I should finally contribute. I'm trying to help, but I am not a doctor, so if what I'm advising doesn't feel right-- well, just ignore me! Anyway here goes (it's a doozy!):
I have been on suboxone now-- 16mg/ daily--for four years, and have had one baby and a tonsillectomy in the process. When I found out I was pregnant with my daughter, I told my sub doc right away, and she switched me to Subutex immediately. She gave me a taper schedule and told me she wanted me completely off the meds at least 48 hours before the due date so that the epidural (this was my second child so I knew I wanted the epidural!) and post-delivery pain meds could work. She told me a horror story about a former patient who hadn't tapered in time, so her pain meds didn't work, and the bay went into withdrawal and the NICU, and on and on. I didn't want that to happen, obviously, so I started to taper.
I also told my OB, by the way. I explained what the medication was for, and that I had a very high tolerance to painkillers. There is often some kind of opiate in an epidural, so I said I would probably need at least double the dosage of meds for that and the post-delivery meds, even with the bupe out of my system-- especially bc of bupe' long half-life. I gave her the name and number of my sub doc and asked the OB AND THE ANESTHESIOLOGIST who would be performing the epidural to contact her, and then I followed up and made sure that they had spoken with one another.