It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:37 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I was reading some post under the Cravings thread of Methadone Maintenance when someone mentioned to another that he might be experiencing precipitated withdrawals. I was going to comment in that thread, but I figure I need to make this a new thread so as to give anyone the chance to read it because this is a very important topic and a lot of clients, Nursing staff, Hospital workers, Doctors etc…are not knowledgeable on precipitated withdrawals and PEOPLE NEED TO BE IT HAPPENS TO BE ONE OF THE SICKEST MOMENTS OF MY LIFE. So with that being said, I should make this a NEW TOPIC. PLEASE take note and NEVER DO THIS. FURTHERMORE……I hope to make a MUCH NEEDED POINT about how doctors, hospitals and emergency care workers needs to get with the times and BECOME EDUCATED in how to deal with events like this one.
I was a newbie in MMT, can't remember how new but I had made it up to my "Stabilizing Dose" so they say at 160 mg of Methadone. It was winter time and a bad snow storm had hit us. I tried to make it to the clinic but due to a wreck in front of me on the Interstate and my clinic closing early, I was unable to get there on time. We had all been called by the clinic and told we had a two hour window to get there and then I guess they were so busy with the extra work, they put their phones on message service and I could not call them and tell them the event in front of me that was delaying me. On a good day it takes me an hour to get to the clinic.