It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 9:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: My Introduction
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 7:39 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

:D Hello everyone!
My name is Kayla and I am 27 yrs old until November. I am a mother of 2 and currently working through a separation and divorce. I'm a medical assistant/medical coder but plan on finishing school to get my degree in nursing. I live in an extremely small town in the south so I'm literally a country gal. Back in 2008 I had a severe car car accident which caused me to have a broken neck, a severe head injury, and internal bruising. I was so lucky to even be alive. I was unable to walk and was paralyzed for the first 5 months and it was several months after neck surgery before I was able to walk. I had to go through physical therapy and still had issues healing properly. I was on every pain medication you can think of during that first year after my wreck. I had memory loss due to the head injury but the medications made it worse. When I finally decided to quit taking all of the medications I couldn't. I was addicted. It became a crippling disease for me. I tried everything to make it on a daily basis but it was a living nightmare. For years I fought addiction but I wanted out. Finally, a friend recommended Suboxone to me and explained the program to me. I found a doctor nearby and began my journey. I have been on Suboxone for 5 years now but I have been drug free during those 5 years. I have been to 3 different doctors during that time. I had insurance through disability during those first 4 years of being on Suboxone but 2 years ago I lost my disability and my insurance. I have fought for my medicine since then. It has been a daily struggle to get it and see the doctor. I am currently trying to get my disability back but I'm unsure if I will or not. I recently applied for the Suboxone patient assistance program and I'm praying they will accept me and pay for my meds eac