It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:37 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:27 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello everybody! I'm new here, actually found this site by watching a youtube video that the Doc made. So, I'll get to the nitty gritty of it all. I had an awful addiction to Vicodin for about 6 months (taking up to around 165mg hydrocodone a day), until I was told by a Doc during an ER visit when my liver was failing that if I didn't stop, I would not live to see 30 (I'm 28 now.) From that point on, I was dedicated to getting off of it; I did a ton of research and considered all options. I, like most people, was quite put off at the notion of being locked away at an inpatient program (I have been to the psych ward 3 times so I know how hard it is, for me at least.)

With the help of some VA substance Abuse consolers (I am a veteran), as well as advice from other previous opiate addicts, I came across Suboxone. At this time I was scared to death of going through withdrawls, I'm sure you all know what I mean. Anyway, the VA told me that they couldn't get an appointment with their Suboxone qualified doc until March 31.

With great luck, I managed to find a civilian Suboxone Psychiatrist and got in to see him on March 18th. After a thorough history review, urine test, and the like, he finally perscribed me suboxone and set it at 4mg/day. It was a miracle. All of my withdrawl symptoms were gone! When I first started taking it, it was almost overbearing, like it would make me sort of 'stoned', very drowsy, and I would just stare at something for a long time, not to mention I had trouble sleeping. But that stopped after a few days. After that few days we agreed that since I tend to feel 'sqirrley' in the evening that I would start taking 4mg in the morning and 4mg in the evening.