It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:49 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

First off, let me apologize if this is in the wrong area. This is my first time on this forum. This is kind of an embarassing issue, so please be understanding.

I've been on Suboxone for a long time. I also take other medications for anxiety and panic attacks. Even with these medications, I still have one, recurring worry. I constantly worry that something will happen to my access to Suboxone, and I will not be able to stay clean. I'm not talking about a short-term issue, like running out. I mean an event that would mean no access to Suboxone for a long period of time. For example, I worry that some misguided politicians will outlaw Suboxone, or something. Both my doctor and therapist have tried to help me. My dr has me on anxiety medications (low doses, being careful not to create sedation or side effects), and my therapist recommends hypnosis tracks, meditation, etc. I've tried the logical stuff. Again, it's not a fear of the physical withdrawal. It's a fear of being denied any access bupe for a long period of time, and relapsing. I'm doing well, but bupe (along with therapy and a good support network) is what holds it all together.

In my rational mind, I know this is completely crazy and counterproductive. The things I worry about have a one in a million chance of happening, but I worry about it too much. Does anyone else have this fear? Any idea how to start seeing this logically, instead of letting these thoughts snowball out of control? Any insight would be appreciated.

Please forgive me for any typos or sentences that don't make sense, as I'm typing this from my phone.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 12:37 am 

You poor person! That must be very hard to deal with!