It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:27 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 5:48 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

I have been abusing prescription drugs for a little over two years. What started off as casually taking vicodin and percocets for fun, quickly spiraled into an out-of-control oxy addiction. I have been doing at least 140 mg of oxys on and off for a year, with my last relapse lasting about 4 months. I know that this doesn't seem that long, but it has taken a huge toll on my mental, emotional and physical state. I recently realized that it was necessary for me to join an outpatient suboxone treatment to help me win this battle, and my induction begins tomorrow. I am very nervous because my last oxy was on Saturday at 10PM so much of my physical withdrawals are lessening. Instead I am left with an overwhelming, unbearable amount of depression (I am usually known to be the "cheery" one in a group), muscle aches, constipation and just a feeling of overall helplessness. I am wondering if after all of this time getting off oxys if I should even enter treatment, or since "the worst is over" in regards to my withdrawal, if I should just keep on trucking cold turkey.

The woman at the clinic I am seeing is extremely nice, and just spent the last hour on the phone with me trying to help talk me out of changing my mind about going. I am definitely seeing a change in my work habits, relationships, and school with this addiction. I feel as though I will never find happiness again, or experience "fun" now that my oxys are out of my life. At the same time I feel as though I haven't been addicted too long and maybe I am being dramatic and just need to figure it out for myself.