It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:49 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Induction Thursday
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:20 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello...

First, thanks to everyone who has posted here. Reading all of the posts and getting information from this forum has helped alot.

I'm 34. I'm also a mental health therapist. Academically I knew what this was about, but in real life i didnt catch it in time. I had pain issues that i took oxycodone for. but i lost control a while back. have been cycling through sources, with w/d in between. I hope to regain some control this week. I have my induction apt. on thurs. Im nervous. Physical w/d is horrible,but i know it by heart now. It's after a few days that the cravings come on. i have to say that is the most debilitating for me. ive gone as long as 4 weeks with no oxy, and those cravings took over every part of my life. now that im in the pre-induction w/d, i feel them coming back. How well does suboxone reduce them?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:58 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

lenticular,

Welcome!

Don't be nervous. You say you were/are on oxycodone, that's a short acting opiate. That's good! What kind of dose per day were you on? I just wanted to know the daily dose to get an idea of how severe the problem was.

Right now it's Tuesday night, have you already stopped your oxy? You mention you are in wd now, I think. For short acting opiates you don't necessarily need to quit that far out, but the less oxy you have in you the better the sub will work.

I think you are going to be absolutely fine. I think the sub will amaze you at how stable you can be.