It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:12 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Induction Disaster!
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 4:26 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I've been using Heroin for about five months and was up to $100-120 a day IV. Was last addicted to Heroin in Thailand in 1975 during Vietnam War.. You'd think I'd have learned! Anyway, saw commercial on Subutex last week and got in touch with a doc the next day. Went in Thursday and we scheduled me for induction on Sat. May 23. That way I could work Friday, withdraw fri. from noon on and be good and sick by Sat. morning. I was guaranteed I would leave his office feeling great! Did not work out!!
I scored 20 to 25 on the scale of withdrawl symptoms (I was hurting! Barely could drive to appointment. Last used noon the previous day.) Started induction with 8mg. Subutex sublingually. No effect after 30 mins. Same dose was repeated every 30 minutes.
After about the fourth dose, my symptoms were markedly worse! After the sixth dose I was in incredible withdrawls! Thank God I had gotten him to come in on Saturday when the office was empty of other patients! I was literally delirious and stumbling about the office in the worst withdrawl agony I've ever experienced! (and I cold turkey'd off Huge doses of pure China White back in 1975, so I know whereof I speak) He was even worried, at one point he asked me if I had hospitalization insurance! NO! I don't!
I suggested we get me on some Percocet and re-think this thing. He informed me that all my receptor sites were now tied up with Bupe and no narcotic would have any effect! So it was in for a dime, in for a dollar at this point. No choice but to push on with the Subutex.