It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:12 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:45 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello, Everyone:

I'm new to all of this but will share my story sometime soon. At present, I need some expert advice.

I've become physically and psychologically dependent on oxycodone IR, taken orally only. As happens with many people, I initially was prescribed oxycodone for some pain issues, and it's morphed from there. Last week, after zooming up to 270 mg, I went to see my family physician about tapering off. After humiliating me and slapping my hand for picking at my cuticles out of nervousness (not a good thing to do to someone who's old enough to be your mother) put me on a long taper, and I am currently on 180 mg per day; the taper will end sometime in early April. I know I have a lot more work to do than just taper, and I would like to go with suboxone as part of that work. I also know that due to some unique health problems, I am at much greater risk for relapse, and that is a scary thought.

I have searched for a long time for physicians who work with suboxone (my current doc doesn't know of anyone, and as it turns out there are a few in my area, but they have serious, uncorrected ethical and behavioral problems). But I finally found an excellent family doc in the nearest large city who specializes in addiction medicine and has worked extensively with suboxone. She has also struggled with addiction herself, so that's a plus. I very much want to work with her. Unfortunately, the earliest appointment I could get with her is March 29. I will be at 15 mg once per day at that time.