It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:31 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:30 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

ok so im on my second day of subs and still have back and leg cramps. i was taking (2)80mg Oxycontin at a time 2-3 times a day and also smoking .3-1.0 grams of heroin on top of that a day. HOW LONG DO I GOTTA TAKE THIS BEFORE I CAN STOP?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2011 8:41 am 
3 Months or More
3 Months or More

squirrelbate wrote:
ok so im on my second day of subs and still have back and leg cramps. i was taking (2)80mg Oxycontin at a time 2-3 times a day and also smoking .3-1.0 grams of heroin on top of that a day. HOW LONG DO I GOTTA TAKE THIS BEFORE I CAN STOP?

squirrelbate,

I'm no professional or even the most informed person on this forum. But, I saw that your post didn't have any replies. That's why I'm posting.

What does your doctor say about your treatment or are you doing this on your own (which it sounds to me might be going on here and makes me suspect is the reason that you haven't received any replies).

If you are still experiencing back and leg pain or other symptoms of withdrawal, I would assume that your dose needs to be increased. But, most doctors would know to have you do that when inducting you. Once your maintenance dose is established, you stay on that dose until it's time to taper off (that's IF it ever becomes time to taper off the medication).

My personal experience has been with two doctors. The first doctor had a 90-day treatment plan (I relapsed). My second doctor has had me on Suboxone for 2 years and I'm starting a serious taper now. I've tapered down considerably this past year from 20mg to 4mg for quite some time and then down to 2mg. It was bumpy at times and I had to go back up several times. Tapering is not something that I suggest be forced. For me, it's not been successful unless my head is ready.