It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 5:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:15 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have been taking about 1-3 30 mg oxycodone tablets for about 3 months. I am down to about 1 to 1.5 tabs a day and want to transition. I start to feel withdrawls symptoms very quickly after I take my last dose of oxycodone about 4 hours apart, I take them in quarters or halfs. I really tried to ween down. Anyways can I take suboxone once I start feeling sick or do I have to wait 12 hours or what?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:21 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Welcome bsstambaugh !

I'm no doctor, but when I asked this same question - setmefree gave me sound advice that worked. That was to wait 24 hours from your last oxycodone pill. You will be in mild to moderate withdrawl. I actually timed my 24 hours with my doctor visit - and was able to take my first dose of suboxone shortly after the visit. It took a couple of hours, then I suddenly found myself feeling 'normal.'

If your goal is to use suboxone as a tool for the addiction/dependence to oxycodone - then the above waiting period will almost surely guarantee you don't have any strange 'precipitated withdrawl' symptoms. I read some people who waited overnight - around 12 hours and took Suboxone, without issue.

There is a formula (search the site) for a COWS scale. It's a measure of your withdrawl symptoms. When you are at a certain level - you will be helped by suboxone. Or, if you are like me, just wait 24 hours (I was nervous), had runny nose, some aches, sneeze, diarrhea, etc.