It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: How do I know what dose?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:16 am 
Power Poster
Power Poster

Hi everyone,
I am new to suboxone...started a little over a week ago. My dr wants me on between 2-4mg a day. I'm feeling best between 2.5 and 3mg...how do I choose a dose? I don't know which is best for me. I will say when I was on 2mg, I felt I needed to take more later in the day as I didn't feel as stable as the day went on. I took 3 yesterday and just took 3 this am. I'm itchy, but I also took 1mg later yesterday so it could be because I'm really above 3mg right now in my blood. Would you try taking 3mg tomorrow am again since I took my whole dose this am and see how I feel, or would you go back and try 2.5mg? I'm not sure that would last all day, but also not sure if this is a mental issue. Any advice? Thanks!
Maya

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 2:22 pm 

Maya,

You're still new to this drug. It took me about two weeks to stabilize and then I tapered down to a comfortable dose. My doctor was a little mad that I did it myself but finally agreed with my need to feel my best.

And yes, you are correct in saying that a lot of it is in your head. We are addicts and our brains always want more and more. You won't go through withdrawals on a low dose unless you were taking massive amounts of pain killers or heroin.

Suboxone has a very long half life. If you read some of the older posts here you'll find that many members went for 3-4 days w/o any Suboxone before feeling any withdrawals so I wouldn't worry about it day to day. Find the dose you feel best on, confer with your doctor and live your life.

My suggestion would be to stay on 3 mg's for a few weeks and see how it goes. Then talk to your doctor about whether you need to go up, down, or stay on that dose.

One way or another you'll find what works best for you.

rule

PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:21 pm 
Power Poster