It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 4:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:08 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I am brand new to suboxone and just started treatment 8 days ago. Brief hx..I have been addicted to oxycodone for 4 1/2 years. I was never a daily user as I had to hide it from my husband and I used maybe once a week 30-45 mg (snorting it). I have tried many times to quit but have at most stayed clean for 3 weeks in the last 4 years. I was started on 4 mg day a week ago but have been so tired that my eyes are closing mid day and sleeping 9 hrs every night. I can't function like this as I have 2 kids and a professional job. So yesterday the dr told me to take the 4 mg in 2 divided doses to help with the sleepiness. Does this work or do you think my dose is too high? I am worried about decreasing my dose as I don't want to have any cravings and want to use. Thank you so much in advance.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:36 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Hi RN34,

Welcome! Are you an RN? I ask because I am an RN and because of your username.

Anyway, its always best to talk to your doctor (like you did). But to me, it sounds like your dose may be a bit high for you. Other people on here have had sucess with combating drowsiness by reducing their dose. Maybe try 2mg in the am and aee how you feel. You could always take an extra mg or even half a mg if you need to.

Good luck and let us know how you are doing. Feel free to ask any other questions if ya need to as well.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:13 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

WELCOME :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'd have to agree with orange doll, in that your dose is most likely too high.
Especially since you said you didnt realy have a 'daily' habit.