It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:31 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

My roomate has been on this for over 2 years now.....He also drinks every night......6 - 8 mixed drinks.......at some point during the night he just seems to black out and not remember anything he does or says....

If i mention to him about not drinking on suboxone he just gets pissed and says he is doing better than when he was on pills........

Should he be off the suboxone by now and what side effects will the drinking cause with it?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:02 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi Jodybro and welcome to the forum,

May I ask, is your roommate prescribed the suboxone under a doctor's care or does he get it elsewhere? I'm not a doctor so I can't say how dangerous it is to drink like that while taking it, and you seem to already know it's not advised.

Now, Your description of his response when you pointed it out to him rang very familiar. It sounded just like me when I was making excuses for my actions.

Do you know if he's doing anything for his recovery other than just the suboxone? Most of us pair it with group support, therapy, out-patient treatment, etc. It's not a one-size fits all, but just taking the suboxone won't fix everything by itself either. I think I recall a while back a thread about drinking on sub, and if I recall most of us don't drink very much or very often. But everyone's different and I'm not in a position to comment more than that.

I don't know if any of this will help you at all. It sounds like you care for you roommate and I'm sorry that you're worrying about him now. For me, nothing that no one said made me stop using until I was ready.

Good luck,

Melissa

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:15 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Hi JodyBro,

Hatmaker/Melissa gave good advise, and questions.