It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:56 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Hello.Need advice.
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:32 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hello my name is Geoff and I am an addict/alcoholic.
I am a veteran and was injured pretty severely about 7 years ago. I was prescribed pain meds and well... You know what happened. I got up to like 20 percocet a day and finally 5 years ago had enough. I was prescribed suboxone which absolutely saved my life. I started going to meetings and got a sponsor and have been clean ever since. I went off the suboxone a year after starting, so 4 years ago. It made me feel buzzed and I felt like I had a good system in place and I didn't want to feel buzzed whether placebo or not.
well The VA finally decided I could have a much needed surgery last ,month. My sponsor and I had a great system in place, the Dr's and nurses were all informed I was not to be given narcotics unless I asked for them specifically.My sponsor was with me. Well I had my surgery and was anesthetized. I woke up from a very very deep sleep as soon as one of the nurses put an opiate in my Iv after the surgery. I sat straight up and I knew what had happened. it was a younger nurse I dont really know what happened or why but I am not going to dwell on it. mistakes happen. Any way that started a 2 month binge. I am still going to meetings and still have a sponsor, I primarily go to AA meetings because my first drug was alcohol. I still have a great support system and I am not angry at myself or blaming myself for this. Its unfortunate but I am human.