It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:29 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Hello everyone!
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:30 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hi everybody! I'm new to this forum and am so happy to have found this resource. I was on sub 2006-2010. I tapered off myself and it was extremely difficult with some symptoms lasting for months. I did well until around 2012 when I regretfully dabbled again and it escalated to a frightening point where I again realized I couldn't stop. I got back on sub in June 2013, new to the film and still uncertain if I like it better or worse.

I'm a psychologist, which has made my own journey through addiction unique and challenging for me. I tend to attack myself a lot, as if I should have known better. I ran a residential rehab program for 2 years. Although I don't specialize in addiction now, I treat my fair share of it. I think my own experiences make me better equipped to help others. But I feel like I have to hide this part of myself from my peers. Stigma is alive and well...

I found a compassionate doctor who helped me the first time around and graciously accepted me as a patient this time around too. I fight a daily battle in my head about how long I should take this, how much I should be taking, and I know it isn't good for my recovery to beat myself up. I have a very supportive wife, which makes all the difference for me.

It bothers me that there aren't more support resources for professionals so I'm constantly looking for ways to address this through my own practice. I think a lot of addicted professionals go untreated because of the stigma and fear they will lose their license, jobs, reputation, etc. Dr. Junig's websites and videos have been inspiring and encouraging.

I can type about this for hours, so I'll stop here. Glad to be alive and participating. Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Hello everyone!
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:04 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member