It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:18 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Hello all
PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:58 pm 
6 Months or More
6 Months or More

Just want to introduce myself. I am a 28 yo male. Been on Suboxone for close to 10 months, haven't had a single drop of alcohol or taking anything other than what is prescribed since than. I attended 12 step meetings, did a 90 in 90, had a sponsor (two actually) but as time went on and I began to realize just how strong I was, I started to become uncomfortable. Plus, I did not mention I was on Suboxone. So I broke away from that and felt better and less stressed immediately.

Life is going pretty well, I am so grateful and lucky to have a supportive family. I guess I am having some trouble taking "the next step". I am a former social worker and burnt out after two plus years of working with abused children. That job fueled lots of my addiction. I have suffered from anxiety, depression and insomnia for my whole life. I was a major self-medicater and was a wuss when it came to getting off. If I would have realized how easy it would be (at least for me) I would have done it earlier.

My usage was usually a two week binge, followed be me tapering myself off and than taking a month or two off. It was often "the last time", but we know how that works. To compensate for the WD effects, I would often drink a 2 to 4 beers a night. Eventually, I just realized I had to get off. I am really liking sobriety, but am unable to commit to a lifetime of total sobriety. I do know I can never use hard drugs, opiates, stimulants etc ever again. I have made a personal commitment to put in pretty lengthy amount of using no mind altering substances (besides those prescribed) and its going well. I do get the rare craving, but now its basically like "Damn a beer would be nice now" but I know that I cannot act on that and it goes away quickly.