It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:16 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Hello All!!! New to Site
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 12:35 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

Hey Guys.....Just wanted to say Hi. I only very recently discovered this site, and now find myself reading posts for hours on end to keep my mind off of the bad pills. I am all about learning new things and feel that this site is the perfect tool for those of us serious about recovery and finding true happiness. My background is was that of a normal middle-class kid. I really do not know how I became an addict, but I do know that I have been one for a very long time. My parents never had as much as a drop of alcohol when I was growing up, so I might actually have been a little late to start my experimenting with drugs/alcohol. By the time I was 16, I was actively searching for the next bigger and better high. Before the end of my sophomore year there was not a substance I had not tried (and absolutely loved). By the time graduation came around, I could not even get up to go to school without a half gram of cocaine and knew I had to get help. Although the drugs/alcohol were not affecting my school (I received a Full Scholarship to Florida State University) it was killing me on the inside. I came clean with my parents and they were dissapointed, sad, concerned, and a little angry...but VERY supportive. When I was 18 I joined the Marine Corps to get away from everything....drugs, ex's, "friends," and my parents. I was an above average Marine and was awarded/decorated at every command I served under. I completed 3 tours of duty in Iraq and decided that was enough for me. I was tired of War and Death and still had a full ride to college waiting on me. I completed a year at FSU but by the end of the second semester i was needing cocaine just to function. I decided to come back to Jacksonville and attend school closer to home. That is when I discovered Hydrocodone.....and it