It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 11:58 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: headaches
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:37 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

I am new to suboxone. I just started on Friday.
I am prescribed 8mg twice a day.
I was not told how far to space the doses. My first dose really made me loopy, surprising to me as I was taking 80-120 mg percs a day.
I have been reading this site just a bit as I am not a blogger and don't care to be. I need help with this headache problem I have been experiecing since starting sub just a few days ago. I can not call the Dr office: weekend.
My headaches are debilitating, I can hardly function. Can not read...watch tv or talk to my spouse which is a huge problem as it is taken personally.
So if anyone can help me figure out why I have these headaches and how to avoid them, I would so greatly appreciate it.
On a good note: I do not crave opiates, having gone through WD twice, alone, no help....sub is a godsend. But is this the price I have to pay to recover.
Desparate Dorothy

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2012 3:12 pm 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Hi Dorothy,

I started subs 2 weeks ago and had the same problem as you. I rarely ever get headaches, and the first day I started sub, I took 4mg and felt loopy too. I took another 4mg in the evening as suggested by my doctor, about 8 hours later. I felt fine for about 5 hours, and then started getting a headache. I took aspirin and it didn't work, so I took ibuprofen and it didn't work. Within an hour, it was a full blown migraine. I couldn't move my eyes, my body, or anything without it hurting really bad. After an hour of that, I started getting nausea. I took an Aleve, and then about 15 minutes later threw up from the nausea. I felt better within a couple of minutes...no headache or nausea anymore. I don't know if it was the Aleve, or throwing up, but it went away. It was the worst headache I've ever had.