It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:48 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:07 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I was on Suboxone for 2 years, 2009-2011, after a Lortab turned Methadone addiction. I was in Respiratory Therapy school in 2011 when I tapered all the way off of Suboxone. I had no issues with the taper and felt fine for a long time. However, I did begin drinking more socially than I ever had prior to my active addiction with opiates.
I graduated and passed my CRT exam in 2012 and applied for my state Respiratory Therapy license. The application asks about past alcohol or drug addiction and whether treated in patient or outpatient. I was trying to do the right thing and be honest so I did admit to a prior history of addiction that had been treated by a physician. I sent in all of the information the board requested; letter from my doctor, a clean drug screen, a letter from myself explaining my addiction and it's history.

Very long story short, in 2013 my license was revoked for failure to comply with wellness monitoring requirements put in place by the board. I was told I could apply for reinstatement after a year. In 2015 I was still working as a sleep tech and planning to sit for my RPSGT exam to become a registered sleep tech so I wasn't too concerned with my respiratory license at this point.
I was having to take random drug tests as ordered by HR and EAP at work as well as counseling monthly. I was drinking significantly and making poor choices. I did cocaine once with my then boyfriend and had a screen 2 days later and lost my job.