It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Mar 29, 2013 1:47 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

I have been on Suboxone for the last seven years with the exception of switching to opiates prior and post surgery in 2011.
I am a 44 year old business owner trying desperately to save his business and home. Seven years ago..before the pills and before the Suboxone I was very much a workacholic. All I did was work and think about working when I couldn't. Even when I had a cervical fusion done I was back at work that same day. It wasn't until my second major surgery that I became addicted to opiates. As with everything in my life I took it to extremes. After four near fatal overdoses I was forced to quit the pain management and begin the Suboxone therapy. Like an idiot I started on 32mg. a day which was at least four times what I needed to quit. But I was ignorant and had no idea of just how powerful a drug this was and it seemed as though my Dr. was more concerned about the quick $500.00 for a two (at most) minute visit than in listening to my health issues. He was also prescribing me Ambien for sleep issues. For the first four years I was very very sick. I had to keep a garbage can next to me at all times because for no reason at all I would throw up. Even when driving I had to pull over(when possible) to vomit. It wasn't until I had to have another surgery for a hip replacement that I finally found the culprit for my sickness. I had to go off the Suboxone prior to surgery and go back on pain pills( many many pain pills). At first I needed to take 200mg of morphine just to keep the withdraw symptoms at bay. I beleived that this was because I was on such a high dose of Suboxone that my body just needed that much just to feel normal. I don't know if this was all in my head or not but the withdraw pain was very real. Despite all the hell I went through with switching over from suboxone one good thing did come