It is currently Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: Hi guys
PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:08 pm 
Average Poster
Average Poster

[font=Comic Sans MS] [/font]
Hi guys, this is my first time on a suboxone fourm and I have been reading posts for hours today and it's nice to know there are other people that have been there and done that. My name is Christina and I am 32 years old. My husband and I have been battling addiction to pain meds for 7-9 years now. (vicodin,perc's,norco,loritabs, ect, ect.. We had both tried on numerous occasions to quit cold turkey with little sucess and then we both started methadone maintience. We stayed on methadone for a total of a year, the first 6 months at a high dose and then started tapering down for the next 6 months until we no longer needed it. We had a year of sobriety and then we both relapsed, this is when our addiction was at it's worst . Fentnyol patches and oxy's and any other opiod pain meds we could get our hands on had totally taken over. I had always considered myself a functional addict because I felt like I didn't fit the ideal "addict" description that I had in my head. Our kids were on honor roll, we didn't inject or snort, our house was nice and clean we still had family dinners every night and did the same thing most families do. But this relapse was different, we had built up such a tolerance for opiods that we were spending on average 3-4k a month just to keep a slight buzz and we were rotating which bills would get paid each month and not paying rent at all on some months so we could continue getting high. One morning when the electricity had been turned off I had a break through moment and I finally realized that I had let this addiction affect my kids and I was discusted with myself. We decided that day that we needed serious help. We packed up our family and moved into my in laws house and found a doc that specialized in suboxone treatment. It's been 2 ye