It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2014 9:30 am 
Long Time Member
Long Time Member

Greetings all; I've been checking out this forum for a few months, and decided to post about side effects I'm experiencing during my Subox taper.

By way of background, I'm a 54-years-old former IV heroin user (I was also addicted to cocaine during the last couple out-of-control years of my addiction). It's been close to 8 years since I've touched any illicit drugs or alcohol, and I was on methadone for several years before switching to Suboxone last Christmas.

Two weeks ago my taper brought me down to 1 mg per day of Subox, and I was planning on coming off it entirely this week, but the past few weeks have been pretty rough, and I'm thinking about giving myself more time to get off Subox entirely (sucks that I'm not on a drug plan presently).

I've been experiencing lots of sadness during the past few weeks -- I chalked this up to a couple personal downs (e.g. a romantic break-up, etc), but now I've come to realize that what I'm feeling is probably mostly attributable to my Subox taper. I've found myself deeply sad on and off throughout the day, and also grieving some heavy personal losses that happened during my time of active addiction (e.g. deaths of close personal friends, a divorce, etc) -- sounds pretty crazy to be doing this grieving so long after the fact, but I was pretty numbed out during my addiction, and didn't feel much of anything at all at the time. I've heard that stunted emotional growth is part of active addiction.