It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

Post subject: going to do it!
PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 5:15 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

OK, this is wierd for me. I have read and read and read, but never written. Out of all the forums, this one seems the most current, the most informative etc.... Who am I? I have a graduate degree in family therapy, an amazing husband, 2 gorgeous little boys and a good life. I also like opiates. Ironically, I had a shitty childhood, yet never used drugs. never tried drugs, used good ole fashion coping skills to survive. After I finished college, I had a bad ear infection, went to the ER and low and behold, I was prescribed Lortab. Never heard of it, had NO idea it was a narcotic, was addictive (how naive), but sure as shit loved the way it made me feel! fast forward a few years... took some on and off, nothing steady, never any wd if I stopped taking, until I went forth with reconstructive surgery on my shoulder, had a steady supply, and with my MRI, could have access to pain clinics. I have nobody to blame but myself. I am no different than anyone else, the rules are the same for me, I guess the one thing I have going for me is that I have not lost anything due to my addiction. Never done anything illegal, have not lost anything... yet. I am very humbled to be in this position, and plan on fixing it. I got into "a pickle" with percocet a few years ago, maybe was taking 30-40 mg a day, and one day got mad at myself, went cold turkey, never told a soul, suffered for a few days and felt great afterward. Never had any cravings, was very proud. Shortly after that I got pregnant with my second son, had a c-section and had percocet prescribed for pain, and started all over again... It has only been about 6 months of abuse, up to about 60 mg a day of percocet, and I became determined to get off again, and stay off. I am very honest with myself, no denial, no ego, no tricks. got hooked, nee