It is currently Fri Aug 18, 2017 6:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2014 12:49 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

hello. im a newbie so forgive me if i say or do anything inappropriate. i am desperate. i am a diabetic and i am almost 360lbs. i went to a seminair about surgical weight loss because all of my drs say i am a prime candidate. i will die if i dont get some weight off my body and ive tried everything. surgery is my last hope at having a normal life. so i consulted with the dr and i told her that i was on suboxone and she replied as long as your off before surgery. she give me a check list of therapist and educational seminairs... support groups. i had to under go several procedures where i was sedated. upper gi, lower gi, they removed polyps and did a biopsy of my stomach. i had to follow a six month supervised diet and lose 20lbs. i had to quit smoking. which i did. i spent six month of my life really devoted to getting my surgery. after i did the chemical stress test and obtained surgical clearence my dr tells me that she will not do the surgery unless i quit suboxone for good. she wants me to sever ties with my dr. quit cold turkey and do 2 months of weekly drug screens to prove i am clean. i know people in pain managment on roxys and oxys and that wasnt an issue. its only suboxone. i was shatterd. i live in ky and i called six other places that do this procedure. all of them told me that they can not work on a patient that is in a suboxone program. my suboxone dr told me that i would be perfectly fine for surgery if i didnt take suboxone for 3 days prior to surgery... but no one will see me. i just dont think i cant quit cold turkey. im not ready. does anyone have any information about weight loss surgery or drs in my area that dont automaticall chalk you up and a drug addict that isnt worthy of a life changing or in my case life saving procedure. if i dont trasfer all my information to someone else soon i am ce