It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2014 5:21 pm 
New Poster
New Poster

im new to any type of forum so hello and thanks in advance.......I'm Putting some serious thought in to making the transition from methadone to suboxone or buprenorphine in the coming week's or months...already been reducing my dose from 110mg to current 45mg,had a brief discussion with my addictions worker who knows suboxone is available but doesn't know much about it,thus the reason I've found myself here....my main concern is the optimal finishing dose of methadone and starting doses of suboxone..... Thanks...d

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:02 pm 
Power Poster
Power Poster

Hey, welcome to the site. Hopefully someone with more experience will come along and answer you soon. There's not a lot of people here on methadone, but there are a few and plenty that made the switch. I've never been on methadone, but this is what I know from reading others experiences here and on bluelight.

It's ideal to be stable on 30 mg of methadone or less before switching. Sub only has up to the agonist effect of 30 mg of methadone before the ceiling effect kicks in, so this will make your switch easier. It's important too, to be stable on that dose.