It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Our Sponsors

PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 3:27 am 
Average Poster
Average Poster

First off, I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Kim, I'm 21 and I'm a full time college student. I have been on Suboxone maintenance since December 1st 2009, and this seems like a great forum for support and advice since I am in the midst of slowly weaning off subs. :) I haven't had much support from people who have successfully recovered (I don't know many in RL), but have a amazing group of people in my life, however none of them have ever been addicts. I go to a outpatient doctor who knows his stuff, isn't judgmental and has helped me immensely. I have been sober for roughly 7 months, with very few bumps in the road. However, I'd like to tell my story of how I transformed from a partying coed to a full fledged opiate junkie, and how I got back my life. I'll try and make this as short as possible, but this is my first time typing out my story.

I was a 19 year old college student when I met my ex "Matt". I had had a rough freshman year to say the least, I was just finishing my finals. After me and my (then) long distance high school sweetheart broke up, I was devastated, depressed, and apathetic. I had always had bad anxiety disorders and ADHD. I had been arrested for underage drinking on the beach, tattled on by my roommate for smoking weed in the dorms, and gotten a severe case of mono which ended up inflaming my liver. I'm guessing the binge drinking 6 nights a week didn't help. 5 people I knew passed away in 2007-2008, 4 of them from mixing opiates (with cocaine mostly.) One of them was extremely close to me. I was slipped some kind of roofie in my drink towards the end of the year... and long story short I was raped.